NATAS celebrates 10 kids TV veterans for years of service and contributions

These new Gold and Silver Circle members will be inducted at the second annual Children's & Family Emmy Awards on December 17.
November 20, 2023

The National Academy of Television Arts & Sciences (NATAS) will induct talent from Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood and Sesame Street into its Gold and Silver Circles in recognition of their years of service to the children’s television industry.

Gold Circle members are recognized for 50 years of leadership and mentorship, with the Silver Circle reserved for those who’ve reached 25 years. 

2023’s three Gold Circle inductees are David Newell (Mister Rogers’ Neighborhood, My Tale of Two Cities), Peter Engel (Saved By The Bell, One World) and Fred Siebert (Adventure Time, The Fairly OddParents). 

There are also seven new Silver Circle inductees as follows: 

Vicki Ariyasu: SVP of content, education and inclusion, Disney Branded Television

Ellen Doherty: Chief creative officer and executive producer (Cyberchase, Donkey Hodie)

David Kleeman: SVP of global trends, Dubit

Carol-Lynn Parente: Executive producer (Sesame Street)

Andrea Romano: Casting/voice director (Batman Beyond, Pinky and the Brain)

Tom Ruegger: Creator/executive producer/writer (Animaniacs, Tiny Toon Adventures)

Tara Sorensen: Head of children’s programming, Apple TV+

NATAS will honor all 10 inductees at the second annual Children’s & Family Emmy Awards in LA on December 17. 

The shortlist for this year’s Children’s Emmy Awards was released earlier this month. Disney leads the pack with 92 nominations in 51 categories, with The Guardians of the Galaxy Holiday Special scoring seven nods all on its own. Runner-up Netflix cornered 62 nominations, including seven for its CG-animated adventure series Spirit Rangers (39 x 11 minutes). 

About The Author



Brand Menu